In 1903, naturalists in Florida were appalled by the killing of birds only to harvest the feathers for women's hats. When it was brought to President Theodore Roosevelt's attention, he set Pelican Island apart as a refuge where the birds would be forever protected.

That was the first national wildlife refuge. President Roosevelt noticed other areas where wildlife would need protection and designated tracts of land that later became national wildlife refuges. Today there are over 530 refuges to protect wildlife, habitat, landmarks and archaeology.

In 2003 the nation celebrated 100 years of the National Wildlife Refuge System. To see maps click on the regions listed below.

Pacific Region
911 NE 11th Avenue
Eastside Federal Complex
Portland, OR 97232-4181

California, idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington,
Hawaii (shown separately)
Southwest Region
POBox 1306
Albuquerque, NM 87103
Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

USFWS Great Lakes -
Big Rivers Region
1 Federal Drive, Federal Building
Fort Snelling, MN 55111-4056

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin
USFWS Southeast Region
1875 Century Blvd
Atlanta, GA 30345-3203

Arkansas, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico
USFWS Northeast Region
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035-9589

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
USFWS Mountain Prairie Region
POBox 25486
Denver Federal Center
Denver, CO 80225

Colorada, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming
USFWS Alaska Region
1011 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99503


Naomi Sherer